(13th July, EDIT TO ADD:
It’s official, he’s not ugly anymore. Moreover everyone say he’s incredibly cute little boy. Will add photos as soon as I receive them)

OK I’m back and more/less recovered from celebration🙂

Day after (9th) we were in maternity home to see little boy and I was quite surprised! Namely we couldn’t see him “live”; he has been brought in one sterile room and we watched him on the screen! And OMG it was little hairy creature, not very pretty indeed. But then aren’t (almost) all babies ugly? (or is it me not being parent?)
My brother was melting with camera so I believe I’m recorded when saying “hello you little ugly!” I did say that in sweetest way though but nevertheless I think now I’ll have to be best uncle in the world to redeem myself from that statement! Oh well, I’ll be best uncle without that anyway😉
Oh and my brother’s mother in law had the same impression and has been recorded as well so I’m OK. On the other hand she and I treat my niece (her granddaughter) in very (!) similar way (we aren’t spoiling her at all) so the fact that we said the same thing is not surprising whatsoever. Oh my niece was such a sweetie when she heard he grandmother she was so surprised: “Granny, how can you say that our baby is ugly?” and granny replied “Love, he has only one day and all babies aren’t pretty when they are so young. He’ll be very pretty soon. I was expecting that she would add “You were ugly as well when you were such a small baby” but now when I think she was very pretty baby so maybe that’s why she didn’t say that (she would tell her the truth, just as I would).

And then I spoke with my sister in law who was on the other side of glass wall with “phone” in hand. It was as if she’s in the prison. She looks fantastic! Delivery was smooth if you’re not counting that in between contractions she screamed “I want watermelon!” (yep, I asked her to repeat twice in case I didn’t understand)

Oh I didn’t mention that my brother was there with her! I’m not sure I would do that, not because I think that woman when seen during delivery becomes less sexually attractive or I think delivery itself is gross, after all as a veterinarian I’m doing rectal examination of cows and vivisection of cadavers and that can’t be prettier! I’d be afraid to say something stupid emotionless (I already try to be absent when PMS is in my surrounding). Anyway, my brother was saying “I’ll bring you the biggest watermelon! Push!” and that’s why I’d prefer not to be in delivery room. I’d probably say something like “Yeah I want that watermelon too but you’re the one who supposed to push it through lemon-size hole! Push!” and you’ll agree that wouldn’t be the happiest choice of words!

Everyone asks me about baby’s weight. That is the most usual question after Boy or Girl? No one can’t believe I don’t know. Why on earth is that so important? So I asked but already forgot *blush* (I guess I should blush) I believe it’s slightly less than 3.00 kilos (which is more than half kilo more than me. I know that because whole my life people are saying how small baby I was and “Look at me now!” I was born in 7th month so hardly I could weight more, right?)

Another answer I didn’t have was name, but that no one knew that! There were several possibilities. I like Mihailo very much and Anastas as well (but my niece is Anastasija so that combination would be silly); my mum wanted Vitomir (that’s my father’s name who is not with us anymore and I think it’s better to leave that name with him) and the shortlisted candidates were Aleksandar and Vuk.
And Vuk he is! I like that name a lot!

Here is small anecdote. Few months ago when they spoke about names and when Vuk became main candidate my niece didn’t say anything. However few days later she suddenly asked my sister in law:

“Mum, can I give name to our baby if is a girl?”

“OK which name you picked?”

“Crvenkapa!” (Serbian word for Little Red Riding Hood)

“But love, that’s not a name” said my surprised sister in law

“Why Crvenkapa is not name and Vuk is!!!???”

I was laughing incredibly when I heard that! Namely Vuk in Serbian means wolf but beside that Vuk is relatively common name in Serbia. Gosh her logic was amazing. I adore her!


As I said Vuk is relatively common name in Serbia and I believe (not sure though) the reason why people in the past have given this name to their children is to chase away evil spirits (because wolf supposed to be terrifying animal).

Oh and it seems our Wolf will be very protected not only by his name but also thank to the fact that we said he’s ugly! LOL Serbian custom indeed is not to say that baby is pretty because then “evil spirits” will hear that and will come to change that. But if they heard that baby is ugly that means they don’t have what to do there!

(indeed custom is to make sound like spitting (like pronouncing “PPP”) for the same reason but don’t ask me why)

I hope I’ll have some photos soon.